City Council

About UsCity Council and Board Meeting Recordings

The City Council is the governing body of the City of Elizabethton.The Council hires a professional city manager to manage and direct day-to-day operations of city government. Council members select the mayor from among the members following each election. The mayor serves as the ceremonial head of the City, presides at all City Council meetings and represents the City of Elizabethton at a variety of community and public functions. The City Council sets City policy, enacts laws and adopts the City budget each year.

The regular meetings of the Council are held on the second Thursday of every month.  Meetings convene at 6 p.m. The meetings are held in the City Hall Council Chamber, 136 S. Sycamore Street in downtown Elizabethton.  All meetings are open to the public.

Each Council member is elected to serve a four year term.

Untitled designCity Council Members

Back Row: City Clerk Preston Cobb, Jeff Treadway, Kim Birchfield, City Attorney Roger Day, Richard Barker
Front Row: City Manager Daniel Estes, Wes Frazier, Mayor Curt Alexander, Mayor Pro-Tem Bill Carter, Mike Simerly

Department Name First Name Last Name Profession Email Phone
City Council CURT ALEXANDER Mayor (423) 676-5205
City Council WILLIAM E. "BILL" CARTER MAYOR PRO-TEM(202 Ridgecrest Dr. 423-470-0193) (423) 470-0193
City Council KIM BIRCHFIELD COUNCILMAN(607 Maryetta Ave.) (423) 268-0320
City Council JEFFREY C TREADWAY COUNCILMAN( 423-543-1975) (423) 543-1975
City Council MICHAEL G. SIMERLY COUNCILMAN(714 Powder Branch Rd.) (704) 787-2372
City Council WES FRAZIER COUNCILMAN(614 Hattie Ave.) (423) 543-7769
City Council RICHARD M. BARKER COUNCILMAN(115 O'Brien Place) (423) 542-2515